The Truth about Miss Mary Jane

You know what I don’t get? The hype about getting high. I really don’t. I’ve been high before — twice — unfortunately my curiosity of seeing what getting high off “mary jane” was like over powered my values I had since sixth grade. But I guess growing up is also experimenting. And let me tell you, I experimented, and I hate it.

First of all, it tastes disgusting. Literally like someone shit into your mouth, while simultaneously setting your lungs on fire. While you hunch over deciding whether or not you may die because you can’t breathe for 15 minutes, the burning feeling goes away. And yes, I admit, you feel “mellow” and everything seems cooler and tastes better, I understand where the munchies part comes from because I ate my weight in marshmallows afterwards. But after that, there’s nothing. It’s not some epiphany, it’s not some revolutionary thing, so why is it so “cool”?

And why is it such a recreational thing? Rarely now you can go to a party without some jackass pulling out a blunt, bong or papers. People stupidly believe that “oh hey, it’s just a herb, it’s part of nature” … okay, if it’s part of nature, why don’t you just smoke some grass and tree leaves while you’re at it? Since you’re just smoking up some nature! Let me tell you, I work in a mental hospital, adult psychiatry to be specific. 9 times out of 10, the people in the hospital have canabis-induced-psychosis, now boys and girls, do you know what that means?

The weed fucked you up. Literally. To the point you’re psychotic. Oh I know I’m going to hear “Oh I don’t do it that often” that doesn’t mean anything, every body and mind is different. Just because Bob over here smokes 5 blunts a day and he’s doing pretty good, doesn’t mean you’ll be fine with you getting high once a week. We are not programmed the same, if we were we would all have the exact same diseases and our bodies would react the same to everything. My cousin’s schizophrenia came out when he turned 18, because he started smoking “mary jane” at 14. It took time, but it got there, and now he can’t live without anti-psychotics and have normal life. (PS, there’s actual research linking marijuana to the neurotransmitters involved with schizophrenia, just so you know.)

And this whole thing about “oh it’s not a gateway drug”… Yes, yes it is. It’s just like when you first start drinking — you don’t go straight for a 50 year old whiskey or burbon. No, you start with fruity shots like broken down golf-carts, or sugar-induced alcohol like bellini’s. The same applies. You start “soft”, and then after awhile, it gets boring. Because it IS boring. So you look for something else, maybe something like mushrooms, or acid. Try that for awhile, meh not quite the same effect. Maybe I’ll smoke some coke… proceeds into snort, etc, etc, etc. It snowballs, and if you think otherwise I’m sorry, you’re being narrow-minded because I’m naive and even I know this bullshit, not from experience thank god but from others such as family, patients (mentally ill people, literally telling me not to fuck up my life and do something as stupid as weed), or seen it with friends (remember Arie? She started with alcohol, then weed, and now she does a bunch of rave drugs).

So if you want my sincere advice? Don’t do it. Unless you’re trying to induce an asthma attack and feel chill for awhile (why not sit in a hot tub in a steam room, probably has the same effect). If you want to get high, get a good high. Go do something spontaneous, with adrenaline. I promise you that will be the best high of your life. Or do something good for someone. Use your drug money and buy a homeless man a meal — chances are he was you, starting with weed a few years back. Or if you don’t want to help the homeless, donate it to a charity. People are fighting for their lives and you’re being selfish enough to purposely poison yourself.

If you’re being pressured into doing it by your friends, walk away. I understand it’s easier said than done, but if they don’t accept your decision of staying away from it, then honestly, they’re not your friends. Misery loves company.

With Love,
Jo

Leave a comment